Change the world

Protection Services

The Protection Services staffing compliment comprises 12 in-house staff members who provide security, event and traffic related services working Monday to Friday office hours as well as providing an after-hour supprt in respect of events, special needs and investigations. They manage and supervise the extended 24/7 security service provided by teh contract security group accross all five campuses, including our George campus.


Head of Department
Mr Derek Huebsch
Mr Derek Huebsch
Position: HOD: Protection Services
Department: Protection Services
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 2490
Email: Derek.Huebsch@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: National Diploma in Police Administration
Expertise: Investigations, event planning
Responsibilities: Security, Safety, Investigations and Traffic Management

Support Staff
Mr Ben Nobadula
Mr Ben Nobadula
Position: Senior Control Officer
Department: Protection Services
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 4217
Email: Ben.Nobadula@mandela.ac.za

Mr Theo Zeelie
Mr Theo Zeelie
Position: Electronic Systems Manager
Department: Protection Services
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3163
Email: Theo.Zeelie@mandela.ac.za

Mr John de Lange
Mr John de Lange
Position: Senior Traffic Officer
Department: Protection Services
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 2270
Email: John.DeLange@mandela.ac.za

Mr George Beer
Mr George Beer
Position: Control Officer (Site Manager)
Department: Protection Services
Location: Summerstrand Campus (South)
Phone: 27 41 504 2211
Email: George.Beer@mandela.ac.za

Mr Melubako Magude
Mr Melubako Magude
Position: Control Officer (Site Manager)
Department: Protection Services
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 3356
Email: Melubako.Maqude@mandela.ac.za

Mr Gibson Malgas
Mr Gibson Malgas
Position: Control Officer (Site Manager)
Department: Protection Services
Location: Missionvale Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 1231
Email: GibsonMzukisi.Malgas@mandela.ac.za

Mr Riaan van Zyl
Mr Riaan van Zyl
Position: Control Officer (Site Manager)
Department: Protection Services
Location: George Campus
Phone: 27 44 801 5050
Email: Riaan.vanZyl@mandela.ac.za

Mr Andre Canestra
Mr Andre Canestra
Position: Investigations Officer
Department: Protection Services
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 2919
Email: Andrea.Canestra@mandela.ac.za

Mr Ludwe Damane
Mr Ludwe Damane
Position: Residence Security / Safety Officer
Department: Protection Services
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 2487
Email: Ludwe.Damane@mandela.ac.za

Mrs Michelle Fleur
Mrs Michelle Fleur
Position: Secretary
Department: Protection Services
Location: Summerstrand Campus (North)
Phone: 27 41 504 2910
Email: michelle.fleur@mandela.ac.za